Reviews


Hurstwood Farm Guest Reviews

Lucy Gorman – 5th November 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“After contacting a few riding schools near where I lived and receiving no response, I was really pleased when Charlotte replied within minutes to my initial enquiry to stay at Hurstwood Farm and get back into riding after an 8 year break. Charlotte was really accommodating and put together an amazing itinerary of varied lessons and hacks overnight, and booking in to stay at the self catering cottages couldn’t have been easier. Lianne provided top quality instruction on both flat work and jumping, and both horses I had the pleasure of riding were well behaved, gentle and obviously well cared for. The facilities were fantastic, with a hugely impressive cross country course and plenty of pleasant hacking and walking routes. The cottage I stayed in was well-equipped and cosy – I’d really recommend Hurstwood Farm!” 

 

Chantal  – 29th September 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Lovely little barn, perfect for a secluded getaway. Not great for phone reception or wifi! Friendly, lovely dogs, and we even came home to a peacock on the doorstep one day!!”

 

Anne Gray  – 17th September 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Really enjoyed stay – lovely horses, friendly staff, lovely setting.

 

Steven Latham – 14th August 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Very clean and tidy.

You need more pictures online the ones you have don’t do it justice.

If you had riding lessons how did you rate them –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Very good, nice instructor and kind pony.

 

Ian – 27th July 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Have stayed at Hurstwood on 3 separate occasions, always on business. Love the place as it has given me a real home from home whilst working locally. Will definitely be booking again when needed. Very competitively priced for the area.

 

James – 10th July 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Very picturesque area – perfect for a relaxing weekend away or a quiet stay if you plan to go to Brighton/London the following day. Excellent price – would very much recommend the stay to others. Thank you for your patience and help whilst we stayed. Very grateful for your time and location was beautiful. We were late and host was understanding/patient he was welcoming upon arriving later than planned and helped us settle in comfortably. For the location of the area the price is very good.

 

Sam Medlock – 29th May 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Very clean and comfortable accommodation, beautiful surroundings. Very happy with our stay. Had a lovely relaxing break. We enjoyed meeting the horses and the peacock!

 

Jude Dobie – May 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Everything was clean and very comfortable. Such a lovely stay with beautiful surroundings, hopefully I can come back and stay again. Thank you!

 

Frank Wijsmuller – April 2017

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Very nice and comfortable cottage, we really did enjoy our stay here. Hurstwood cottage is a very quiet and great place to stay. It is central to several trips, to the sea, Brighton and many of the lovely gardens of Kent and Sussex. The cottage is spacey for two, yet cosy and comfortable. The countryside is really nice and we heard no traffic around us in the quiet hours, which was wonderful. The owner is easy to speak with and gave us some appreciated tips on day trips. If you love horses you will like Hurstwood even better, as it is a horse farm.

 

Christmas 2016 reviews

Therese Hadley – Christmas 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Lovely cottage, beautiful location. Thank you! Lovely Christmas decorations were a nice touch and toffees!

Maria Moore – Christmas 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Thank you for a really super stay. The cottage was perfect for what we needed and it was nice to arrive after a long journey and find the little christmas tree and chocolate orange.

 

Ross Meikle and Faith Pickering – December 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Very warm and cosy and had everything we needed for a short break.

If you had riding lessons, how did you rate them –          Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Fantastic, enjoyable, confidence booster after a recent fall. Mellow was perfect! We had a fantastic time and really enjoyed the whole experience and weekend away.  We will definitely try to visit again, potentially with some friends in the summer.

 

Zalena – October, November and December 2016

Lovely destination. Good value too.

 

Karen and Paul Wareham – November 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

The stay was ideal for our purposes – thank you.

 

Zoe Bushell – September 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Really enjoyed the mixture of lessons. Hope to come back again in the future. Thank you very much for a fantastic holiday.

 

Riding Camp Rottingdean Riding Stables – August 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

A really lovely place to stay.

 

Andrew Brearley – August 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Excellent lovely accommodation.

Ryan Mootoo – August 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Fantastic, great place.

Charlie Arnold – August 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

What could we do to improve your stay – Nothing can’t fault you at all.

Thank you, our stay was a real tonic. Really organised relaxed peaceful place meant we all settled in as if we have been here for years. Great facilities.

Paul Davies – August 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Lovely, peaceful setting and good accommodation. A beautiful setting and lovely part of the country. Thank you for your hospitality.

Harm Woelinga – August 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

We loved this place very much. The house is very well isolated.

Rachel Taylor – July 2016

Thank you! I had an enjoyable time.

Alexander Masak – July 2016

Thank you for a nice stay. Everything was perfect.

Alisdair Plumb – July 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Nicely furnished and very comfortable. Thank you for making our stay comfortable for our event.

Mark Armstrong – July 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Nice to find somewhere in the location we wanted to stay that does short breaks and at a reasonable price.

Gary Batchelor – June/July 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Mike and Charlotte were very accommodating. The bathrooms in both cottages were beautifully clean. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Dirk Decker – June 2016

We had a great time here and hope to be back in the future.

Thomas Gygax – June 2016 

Lovely cottage, good booking experience, excellent riding lessons.

Ian Phillips – June 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Loved this place and my stay. Expect me back if I am working in Uckfield again.

 

Stuart Foley – May 2016

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Liane and Alex were both excellent – very patient with us being beginners!

The dogs and the peacock were great company too. Thank you for a great stay.

 

Dan Bailey – March 2016

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

 

Warren – March 2016

“Hurstwood Farm is a picturesque postcard setting and was the ideal surrounding for me to relax in. The hosts were friendly and helpful and always available should you need anything. I stayed in the Countryside Owl Cottage which was really comfortable and had all the amenities I could wish for. I highly recommend Hurstwood for anyone who fancies some time out in the country, even more so if you love horses.” 

 

Alex Voorheist – August 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Thank you very much for a lovely time.

Ian Burbidge – August 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Really loved the cottage! Very relaxing mini break.

Rachel Burke – August 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Everyone was extremely welcoming and we loved the studio and beautiful beautiful property.  Everyone we met from horse liveries to staff were lovely.  We went for a walk on your beautiful facility all 3 days we were here and enjoyed getting grassy rolling down the hills and muddy playing in the muddy water jumps! Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your wonderful place! And the Studio… the beds were sooo comfy. We put them together and my son, who never sleeps in, slept until 9am! We loved having our own little home away from home in the studio. We will definitely be back!! x

Tadzio Rayner – July/August 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Suzanne Richards – June/July 2015

Thank you for a fabulous stay here in paradise. We loved meeting and befriending the local residents – Blaze, Lola and of course Rasputin. We have absolutely loved our stay here. We are very sad to be leaving and look forward to returning some time in the future. Thank you.

Mr Wynn – May 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Lovely clean, well equipped cottage. Fresh flowers were a lovely touch.

Dan Bailey – May 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Enjoyed stay a lot. Thank you very much!

Maria Von Heydebreck – May 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Great setting and location, easy to access many attractions and lots of great pubs around. A big thank you!

We (incl. our 19-month old daughter) had a wonderful time at Hurstwood. The communication prior to arrival was smooth and fast. And although we booked very last minute, our request for a booster chair and travel cot were quickly accommodated. As stated in the cottage’s description, you really do need a car due to the farm’s location (and to explore the surrounding villages, towns and walks). After a warm welcome from Mike, we settled into the cottage before heading off to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside. The house is exactly as you can see on the pictures and has everything from a short or even longer stay (even the WiFi was pretty good given you are in the middle of the countryside). Everything was very clean and spotless. Besides the wonderful team who run the farm, we got chatting (and some great tips) to the riders – everyone was really friendly and happy to chat. We’d definitely recommend Hurstwood to singles, couples as well as families who are looking for a quiet and relaxing weekend a short distance from London.

Wenje Cai – May 2015

Great stay, really enjoyable.

Mrs Herbert – April 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it!

Ms Carlson – April 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Thanks for having us, very cozy cottage.

Tina & Nikki – April 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Weather was great, Horses facilities were fab.  Staff pleasant, friendly and helpful.  Location perfect.  Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Deborah Simpson – April 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Emily (Riding Instructor) really very good with the children riding, giving good direction for improvement and getting the most improvement in the shortest time.

Katie Booth – March 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Clean, excellent facilities

Hayley Green – March 2015

Clean and Cosy!, we had a lovely stay in this peaceful place.  Great location with lots to explore.

Mrs Kang – February 2015

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Lovely and quiet, great to have 3 cottages together for the family to join.  Just what we needed.

Mr Leitz – December 2014

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Quiet and comfortable accommodation.

Karina Reynolds – November 2014

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Very cosy and comfortable in winter.  All we needed was provided.

Laura Palmer – November 2014

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Lovely Spot, beautiful views and all members of staff were very friendly.

K McDowell – October 2014

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

We have had a lovely time, everyone is extremely helpful – thanks for everything.

Mrs Bonilla – October 2014

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Lovely cottages, lovely location, lovely people, lovely X Country Course, lovely horses, dogs and choccies!

Will be back!! Thanks for everything.

Mrs Fish – October 2014

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Excellent location, comfortable and quiet.

Priya Kumar – October 2014

You have a beautiful place, I enjoyed my stay.

Fiona – October 2014

How did you rate your stay –         Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

The Studio was very well equipped, thank you for a lovely relaxing week!

Dagmara – September 2014

Big thank you to everyone, I had a lovely stay.  Also it’s good that you provide lessons and assisted hacks as it wasn’t easy to find a place which does so.  Excellent lessons.

Julie & Helen – September 2014 (Riding Holiday)

Nice Cottage, beautiful spot.  Great Pub, liked the Peacocks.

Mrs Robinson – August 2014

Cottage was very clean and comfortable everything we need.  Loved the pets and birds.  We would love to come again.

David Wheeldon – August 2014

Bright, clean and homely cottage on the working equestrian farm.  We loved the atmosphere, the location. friendly dogs, peacock and farmer!  Nice touches with a box of chocolates on arrival.  Failed to notice that we needed to switch on the internet which was fantastic as we didn’t miss it one bit….

The Coxon’s – August 2014

Accommodation top notch – loved those touches of welcome chocolates and visitor toiletries.  Really beautifully decorated accommodation. Hurstwood Farm was a tranquil and restful getaway in a stunning setting.  Everyone so welcoming and accommodating.  Can’t wait to come back, thanks for everything.

August 2014 – The Bishop’s

Comfortable Cottage, and helpful staff…..

Mid Sussex Riding Club – August 2014

“Amazing Brilliant Time!”

“Thanks to the amazing staff at Hurstwood Farm Equestrian Centre for having us to play xxx”

“Had an amazing day training at Hurstwood Farm with some exciting and receptive combinations….. what a job”

“Thank you – we will be back for more”

Freiderike Glaab Kuhn – August 2014

We enjoyed it very much! The cottage is very nice and the surroundings beautiful! You’ll find a pub in walking distance (“The Hurstwood”) that serves excellent food!

 

David Mansfield – August 2014

Excellent accommodation and lovely location.  Helpful and friendly staff – the box of chocolates was a lovely touch.  Thoroughly enjoyed flatwork, jumping and cross country tuition.  Liane’s relaxed, informative and professional style of teaching helped me relax and learn at the same time.  Both the horses were a joy to ride.  We will definitely recommend to other horsey friends.

 

Nicolas – August 2014

The cottage was very comfortable and perfect for us – very peaceful!

 

Mrs Kraatz – July 2014

Everything was fantastic (only [holiday was] too short).  Beautiful location, we were lucky with the weather and a nice pair of peacocks.

 

Mr and Mrs Hand – July 2014

Fantastic stay, great staff and accommodation.  Everything was to our satisfaction and Liane was an excellent patient teacher (horse riding lessons).  We all had a wonderful time and we are hoping to return in October.

 

Akima Craik – July 2014

We have had an excellent stay, thank you very much for upgrading us!

Roger Daniells – long term stay until June 2014

It has been a pleasure staying with you.

The Cacquevel’s – July 2014

Good Place to stay, well equipped.  We appreciate the welcoming the necessary for breakfast.

Merel & Jesse – 26th June 2014

We had a wonderful time at Hurstwood Farm. The surroundings were simply beautiful, like a fairy tale – we enjoyed the daily company of a peacock near our cottage, and saw lots of deer and other wildlife nearby. The cottage was very well equipped, small but very cosy. We brought our 14-month old son and he too had a wonderful time. Things that were missing ( a coffee machine and a safety gate for the stair) were very quickly supplied. There is lots to see and do around Hurstwood. Very friendly people, we would love to go back to this place.

We really had a great time here!  Thank you for letting us stay in this magical place!

Sarah & Lizzie 22nd May 2014

We had such a great break at Hurstwood Farm.  The cottage was lovely and we (including our horses) received such a warm welcome on our arrival.  We loved the laid back atmosphere and it was great to be left to do our own thing without being hampered in any way by anybody!

I had such a good lesson with Liane – she is a credit to the centre.

Lizzie and I will certainly recommend you to our friends.  Already planning our visit for next year!

(We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay).

The Pizano'sThe Pizano’s – March 2014We rated our stay as excellent and both Instructors at Hurstwood Farm are excellent aswell.  (Thankyou we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hurstwood Farm).

Julie and Simone  Julie – March 2014

I attended Hurstwood with my friend Simone.  On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff.  Our cottage Fox’s Lair was beautiful and well equipped.  We had two great riding instructors and our horses for those few days were fantastic.  The location is quiet and tranquil away from the hustle of main stream town life.  We met three little character’s Lola, Blaze, Snatchie and not forgetting the peacock! Great Prices, Great Location, Great Place.  5* All the way. (Thankyou for your great comments).

Eric and Michele – October 2013

Excellent, really enjoyed it.  Had a super stay.

Elodie Carme – October 2013

Thanks a lot to Emily and Liane for the great lessons!

Sarah Montogomery – September 2013
I came yesterday with my two daughters and their ponies to school around your cross country course. Its the first time we visited Hurstwood and we all thought the course was fantastic! My girls and their ponies loved it and we will most certainly be back! Thanks.
Sally and Mike, Sutton:
“Very pleasant accommodation and surroundings – a good place to chill out. Easy Access to the Sussex coast.”
Janet and Peter, Burton on Trent:
“Pleasant stay, no problems, great place to explore Sussex and beyond.”
Anna and her horse, Hildenborough:
“Lovely stay, lovely cottage, we were made to feel really welcome and more like a home from home. We will definitely be back with reinforcements!”
Aisha & Ria, West Sussex:
“Fantastic. We have really enjoyed the peace, quiet and tranquility of the area, the friendly environment and the beautiful setting. Thank you Mike”
Paul & Ann, New Forest:
“Very good stay. Ideal for walking & cycling. Thank you for tea, coffee and biscuits! Lovely cottage and friendly people. Excellent location.”
Kevin & Susan, Matlock:
“Lovely comfortable cottage – an ideal base to explore Sussex. Excellent food at the Hurstwood and Crow & Gate pubs”
Alison & Kevin, Co. Durham:
“Lovely cottage with great things to do. Would recommend to all.”
Maggie, Brighton:
“Great stay and comfortable. Thanks.”
Bonnie & Sophie, Heywood Westbury:
“We had a great stay in a very comfortable cottage.”
Jean & Neil, Nettleham:
“Cosy & comfortable. Great base for touring.”
Kylie & Dave, Brington:
“Lovely cottage. Great for the horse. Excellent time.”