Reviews


 

Reviews:

Diana Welburn 21st September – 24th September 2020

All staff were friendly and helpful, had a lovely time.

 

Lisa Haggis 21st September – 23rd September 2020

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Everywhere was Clean, We had everything we needed.

Riding – Liane is a brilliant teacher and the horses (Mellow and Weasley) were just beautiful, well mannered and gentle.

 

Smita – 29th August – 11th September 2020

Hurstwood just became an even better experience for me. I was fortunate to witness amazing riders perform cross country. The neighbours are great and I have been very happy with my stay. Safe, beautiful and healthy!

 

Lisa Edwards 5th September – 19th September 2020

How did you rate your stay: Not good  Fair  Good  Excellent

‘There is everything you need in the cottage, well equipped, Amy and Charlotte really lovely and helpful.

Riding – Leanne is excellent at teaching, really worth the money and a great riding school. Michelle is also really lovely too.

Thank you for a nice stay – I will be back!

 

Emily Jefferies 22nd August – 29th August

Booked a week here at the end of August and it was a very enjoyable stay. Amy is really friendly and helpful. We ordered a breakfast hamper and an afternoon tea hamper whilst there and they were beautifully presented but also delicious… The tea is especially nice! The cottage itself was very cosy. There is a lot to do around Sussex, we visited national trust sites, Hever castle, Rye and Brighton – where we hired e-bikes from Colin (I can highly recommend as we really enjoyed it).

d but also delicious

Matthew 14th – 17th August 2020 – Holiday Barn

We loved staying here, highly recommended. Beautiful natural environment with many lovely walks i immediate surrounds. My daughter loved the horse riding.

 

Jessica Randfield 10th August – 17th August 2020

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

We have loved everything about staying here! Thank you

Every expectation of this place was shattered each day. Hurstwood proudly boasts that you are likely to see deer on your trip, this is entirely accurate. The grounds that you are able to walk are a stunning step in to nature. The pub that Hurstwood recommend (10 minute walk from the cottage) is unmissable, with amazing seasonal food and fantastic, friendly service. The cottage itself serves as a perfect base camp to see all of the Ashdown Forest and south coast by car. There are plenty of food shops within a short drive away. We noticed the reviews that Wi-Fi was poor and we found this to be true but absolutely not a problem based upon the location. We took an old DVD player, films and board games and didn’t miss it at all. All of the staff on the farm were friendly and welcoming, happy to give you local tips. A fantastic, highly recommended stay.

The entire experience of staying at your cottage was outstanding and an amazing experience. All expectations were shattered on a daily basis and having such fantastic nature so accessible has been the highlight of our trip. We came away looking to rediscover some happiness after this pandemic and we have left with so much more than that. Thank you

 

Laura Coppolaro  10th August – 17th August 2020

“Hurstwood Farm is the perfect place for a quaint getaway in the English countryside. It was wonderfully quiet and completely alive with nature – from the horses clopping around in the yard behind, to buzzards, deer, dogs, owls and peacocks. We ordered a breakfast and afternoon tea hamper from the host which was excellent, with absolutely delicious, locally sourced food. We don’t drive so enjoyed walking around the forest a short walk away from the property, and were able to be picked up from the station and taken to Ashdown Forest (The Hundred Acre Wood) which was really helpful. Top stay, just waht we needed – thank you! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, it was an absolutely delightful week and we’ll make sure to recommend to everyone we can!”

 

Mr & Mrs Viner 1st August – 8th August 2020

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“The accommodation was excellent”

 

Jane Laird 21st July – 24th July 2020

“How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Lovely comfortable clean cottage. We loved being so near the yard and our ponies. Girls would have liked a larger TV but really it wasn’t a problem! Also the remote control was a little tricky to use. We loved our stay and would recommend to others.”

If you had riding lessons, how did you rate them –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Liane was excellent and gave us varied lessons. She understood our abilities and adapted lessons accordingly. We all learnt and improved also lovely horses.

 

Riding holiday guests July 2020 

“How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“What a great stay and would go again”

If you had riding lessons, how did you rate them:  Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

 

Michael Mills – 8th July – 11th July 2020

“How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Zero faults, amazing stay! Our first stay at Hurstwood Farm last week was fantastic. The accommodation was amazing and we did everything we wanted to do over the two and a bit days we had there. My only regret is that we could not stay any longer. Thank you very much for being so accommodating during our stay and we’ll be sure to stop by again.”

 

Steve White – 13th June – 27th June 2020

“How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good    Excellent **BRILLIANT**

“Comfy, well appointed, great quality its like the tardis inside. Really fabulous place absolutely loved it! Thanks for having me!”

 

Thomas Palmer & Family 

“A great rural location for animal lovers with magnificent horses, friendly dogs, peacock and even a herd of deer. Friendly staff and some peaceful woodland walks around the estate. Thank you for having us. A perfect spot and a super little break.”

 

Thomas & Grace – 1st September – 8th September 2019

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Its been lovely to be here, thank you.”

 

Rachel Payne & Family 31st August to 3rd September 2019

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Clean and well appointed cottage which was perfect for our stay kitchen well set out.

 

Nathalie Mahieu – Airbnb guest, Badgers Set 13th August 2019

“Very Calm, very good bed”

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

 

Guy – Airbnb guest, Owls Roost, 30th June  2019

“Lovely compact little cottage on an equestrian farm. Peaceful and away from it all. Try a walk to the pub for a decent pint and excellent food. Thank you for our time at the farm. Perfect for what we needed.”

Richard – Airbnb guest, Badgers Set 5th June 2019

“An incredible place to stay if you like horses. We had an amazing time largely due to the horse riding lessons we were able to book on top of staying at the farm. Our family loved every minute of staying here.”

Mr & Mrs Cunningham – Badgers Set Cottage, May 2019

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Couldn’t improve stay. We all had a lovely time, We were here for a wedding.”

 

Zelda –  Badgers Set Cottage, Jan – Feb 2019

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Very clean and welcoming, homely feel. Thank you for a peaceful rest!”

 

Hally – Owls Cottage, November 2018

“Very nice place. The team is very helpful. The walks around the farm are beautiful. The people that have their horses there are friendly and very willing to explain everything about the horses. And the 2 dogs that live there are adorable. We stayed there for 2 months during renovation on our house. I would have been happy to stay on.”

 

Maxine – Foxes October 2018

“Charming little cottage with great amenities. We suggest a check on which service provider works best for phone and internet signal if you need to keep in touch or work from the cottage.”

Foxes and Studio booking September 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Friendly staff who went out of their way to help us have a lovely holiday. Could not improve our stay all good, happy staff very welcoming. Outstanding accommodation, very accommodating. Thank you for a great holiday.”

 

Dan – Badgers Set September 2018

“Relaxed and friendly. Thank you so much it was a lovely stay and we will be back.”

 

Anna – Fox’s Lair cottage July/ August 2018

“Thank you for  a lovely weekend, the cottage was gorgeous and the girls really benefited from the extra tuition.”

 

Anna- Marie – Owls Roost July 2018

“A lovely stay, in a peaceful quiet location. Accommodation was clean and had everything you could need for your stay”.

 

Victoria – Fox’s Lair cottage June 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Lovely location with beautiful surroundings gorgeous cottage-y feel to accommodations loved the visits from the dogs!! Lovely stay, super location, great accommodations, gorgeous surroundings – overall really nice!! Thank you! Mike your friendliness is overwhelming!

 

Rita – Studio June 2018

“We used Hurstwood Farm for one of our Locum vets who wanted to do their own cooking. Hurstwood made them feel very welcome and it was a successful stay and we would thoroughly recommend.”

 

K Yeomans – Studio June 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Location and facilities were just what I needed for the weekend. Thanks for having us especially at such short notice.

AIRBNB : “Great location for the wedding we were attending just down the road. Sad not to have more time to explore the area as it was absolutely beautiful. The studio was great for what we needed – nothing fancy but certainly did the job. The hosts were great in terms of check in, we were late coming down from London and they just left the key in the door ready for us.”

 

Siobhan Moulding and Family – May 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Loved the posy of wild flowers! chocs on arrival was a lovely touch – thank you

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Jonathan Bryson – May 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Chocolates were yum! Thank you! Would have been great to know on Airbnb, what exactly is provided in kitchen (ie milk) 🙂 

 

Julia and Godwin – April 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“We really enjoyed our weekend despite the weather. Cottage was great! Riding Lessons – Liane was excellent! We will come back! Very happy with our weekend! Already recommended your place to colleagues! Thank you

Emily Lemon – April 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Great facilities, comfortable, welcoming, everything we needed. Horses very well looked after.”

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Tamsyn Flynn – March 2018 

“If you want a break in a beautiful setting, this is the place! We loved our walks in the forest. Hospitality was great and the set up of the cottage was just perfect.”

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Jordan Taggart  – March 2018 

“What a lovely stay would recommend to anyone very lovely countryside”

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Kat February 2018

” We had a lovely stay at cosy and beautiful Hurstwood cottage! It has everything you need including a well equipped kitchen, washing machine and TV.”

 

Kat Hendrick – 6th February – 20th February 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Beautiful location and very cosy cottage – Thank you 🙂

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Valerie January 2018

“It was a really nice place to stay…. We would stay here again”

 

AIRBNB GUEST:  Irene – December 2017

“Thank you for providing me with such great accommodation. Sorry I didn’t get to leave feedback, it has been hectic since I got back. The cottage is really lovely and cosy. I enjoyed the location and serenity along with the company of the dogs and of course the lovely hos