Reviews


 

Reviews:

Jonathan 15th November 2021 – Studio Airbnb guest

“Great location in the countryside and a very peaceful stay, perfect for working away as a contractor”

 

Carole Leahy 29th October – 31st October 2021

How did you rate your say with us : Not good    Fair     Good    Excellent

Came in summer too – found on google search. Accommodation is perfect for us very warm cottage and clean.

Good to experience early Autumn weather and beautiful, quiet scenery. Plan to be back.

If you had riding lessons, how did you rate them: Not good    Fair     Good    Excellent

Daughter age 16 says absolutely loves it here especially Mellow. Very conveniently positioned to fall out of bed into the riding arena.

 

Zoe Goodman 21st October – 24th October 2021

How did you rate your say with us : Not good    Fair     Good    Excellent

Cottages perfect for stay. Have everything you require and are very clean. No improvements on either stay. Have loved every minute. Horses are perfect staff on yard very friendly and relaxed and made us feel welcome. I have already recommended Hurstwood to friends and will continue to do so. We will defo be back again! If you are missing Weasley he may be in my daughters bag!

 

Julia Deats 11th October – 25th October 2021 – Badgers Set 

How did you rate your say with us : Not good    Fair     Good    Excellent

Had a great holiday would def come and stay again. Thank you.

 

Anita Jobling 28th August – 4th September 2021

How dd you rate your stay:   Not Good   Fair  Good   Very Good   Excellent

Had a fantastic time, Cottage is a perfect size and our dog enjoyed the walks. We will be back. Enjoyed our visits to the stable yard, girls were very friendly. Breakfast hamper was amazing!!

 

Lindsay Thomas Riding holiday  – Fox’s Lair 27th – 29th September 2021

How did you rate your say with us : Not good    Fair     Good    Excellent

We had a lovely stay, thank you, and Amy’s hampers were excellent.

If you had lesson’s how did you rate them? Not Good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Faith was a very good teacher, we both came on a lot in skill level and confidence.

 

Diana Welburn; Owls Roost 20th – 23rd September 2021

How did you rate your stay: Not good     Fair     Good     Excellent

We came last year when we looked up on the internet. Fantastic stay. Lovely staff, all very helpful. A big thank you to Michelle the yard manager who was so good and did everything to ensure our horses had a good stay. We had everything we needed and more. Thank you for giving us such a good holiday. Hope to be back again next year.

Leonie Oliver: Studio 20th Sept – 23rd Sept 2021

A beautiful location, comfy studio (and bed), lovely horses, great instructions – perfect really!

How did you rate your stay?  Not Good    Fair    Good    Excellent

 

Tom Regan – Owls Roost – 4th – 7th September 2021

How did you rate your stay;  Not Good    Fair    Good    Excellent

Super friendly, really nice cottage, rural location. We loved it and would come back for sure.

 

Ines – Studio 3rd September – 6th September

We loved our stay at Hurstwood Farm and the walks around the area. They also offer breakfast hampers with local produce, it was delicious!

Definitely a place we would recommend.

 

Anita Jobling – Owl’s Roost -28th  August – 4th September 2021

We had a fantastic stay in Owls Roost, the breakfast hamper was amazing and we will definitely be back.

 

 

Imke Rass – Barnstedt   The Studio –  29th August – 1st September 2021

How did you rate your stay?  Not Good    Fair    Good    Excellent

Studio has everything you need for a short stay. Basic but cosy and clean.

If you had riding lessons, how did you rate them:  Not Good    Fair     Excellent

Instructors were friendly and professional. Good sited outdoor school.

 

Abigail Walter – Browne   The Studio  26th – 29th August 2021

How did you rate your stay? Not Good     Fair     Good     Excellent

Both us humans and the dogs have really enjoyed staying here. Staff (and dogs) are so friendly and have been super helpful.

Stephen D  Badgers Set  1st  19th August 2021

Great location and space. Perfectly as described. Owners were awesome and kind when we had to cancel initially because of Covid. Great space for a few days off. Used issues with reception/broadband as an excuse with work! Thank you so much for your approach when we had to cancel the first booking at 24 hours notice because of our daughter’s Covid test. Not what we expected and showed there are still some good people out there. Stephen

Solene Debaisieux  Owls Roost 19th – 23rd August 2021

We stayed in Owls cottage for 4 days and really had a great time. We had everything we needed there. Clean and spacious. Great surroundings with nice places to visit and beautiful woods at walking distance. We were also provided with a cot and a high chair for our little one that was very nice. Would highly recommend!

Steven Hadley Owls Roost 12th – 17th August 2021

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Dripping tap in kitchen * but we should have mentioned earlier and for the light sleepers blackout blinds at the kitchen window would be helpful. But a lovely restful place. Lovely people and beautiful horses. Would recommend to anyone needing a recharge.

 

Chrisitiane  Holiday Barn 27th July – 1st August 2021

Stayed in the Holiday Barn for a couple of weeks while visiting my father in a nearby nursing home. Well-equipped as a base for such an extended stay, suitable for one person. Nice walks around the farm and woods.

Holiday Barn – 12th July

We had a very enjoyable week in the Holiday Barn at Hurstwood Farm Equestrian Centre. We were not riding but using the place as a base to visit several National Trust properties in the area. It was interesting and enjoyable to see the horses around the place though. The quiet location is also ideal for the enjoyment of many walking opportunities in the area. In view of the studio style layout, the warm and cosy ‘Barn’ was very well equipped and more than adequate for our needs.

Badgers Set – 1st July – 29th July

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Lovely cottage with everything we needed. Lovely surroundings and accommodation would recommend highly. Thank you Valerie.

 

Badgers Set – 9th July

Lovely place in a nice location! Hosts are responsive and very helpful! Shealagh

 

Colin Moss – Badgers Set 4th -11th July 2021

How did you rate your stay   Not Good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Thanks we’ve had a great week … In spite of the Weather!

 

Kate McVarish  Badgers Set 8th – 11th June 2021

How did you rate your stay   Not Good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Everything you could possibly want has been provided, even a calander! Really nice thoughtful touches. Cottage design and layout really nicely done too.

 

Fox’s Lair 1st – 3rd June

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Very helpful staff.

If you had riding lessons, how did you rate them: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

 

Rebecca Airbnb 10th May Camping POD

Fantastic place to stay! Comfy, cosy pod with all the things we needed. Lovely hosts checked us in and were always available for anything we needed during our stay. The site itself is really beautiful and the bluebells were out in full force. Will definitely recommend to friends and would love to stay here again some time!

 

Philippa and Bella Varcoe 7th May – 9th May  Studio

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Outstanding facilities, exceptional and friendly staff. The apartment was extremely comfortable and well equipped and had everything we needed. The photos on the website don’t do it justice! We will definitely be coming back very soon! Special mention to Amy & Faith to their amazing teaching!! The shower door is a bit rickety nothing else as everything else is bloody amazing!! Amazing riding lessons from Amy working on our flatwork which really helped within the hour lesson we had with her. Faith was so encouraging and supportive and the cross country lesson with her was super fun. Both amazing teachers! We are so pleased that we found you! We will definitely be coming back and have recommended you guys to our horsey friends. Hope to see you all soon. Philippa and Bella x

Horses were amazing too Mellow and Weasley.

 

Victoria 17th April – 18th April 2021 – Camping Pod

Brilliant little pod with everything you need (incredibly comfy proper bed, proper hot showers and toilets, washing-up room, camping stove, pots/plates/utensils, even solar-powered light and USB sockets in the pod) and nothing you don’t. Peaceful quiet site with easy access to Ashdown Forest. We were really glad we’d paid extra for a firepit and logs (get two bags of logs if you think you might want to use the firepit for more than a few hours) and a delicious breakfast hamper delivered to our door in the morning – wine, crisps and marshmallows apparently available too! Everyone we contacted was incredibly flexible and helpful – we had a really lovely stay.

Thank you so much – we had a lovely stay and it was exactly what we’d been looking for.

 

Jane Woollock 15th April – 18th April 2021 – Owls Roost

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Staff cheerful and helpful all equipment you needed. Everywhere clean and only needed heating on for 1/2 hr morning and night.

Daisy Hayden – 15th April – 17th April 2021 – Studio

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Riding, horses, instructors, lessons, hacks, countryside etc all wonderful. Everyone friendly and welcoming.

 

Emily Clec 12th April – 19th April 2021 – Badgers set

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

We really enjoyed horses, lessons and being so close to walks. Really kind teachers who explained things in a simple way. We loved how peaceful it was.

 

Nicolas Lampkin  14th – 28th December – Fox’s Lair 

How did you rate your stay: Not good  Fair  Good  Excellent

More compact then expected by met our needs, thanks!

 

Ruth Sherratt  12th – 25th October – Studio 

“A cosy space, in a beautiful area. If you are horse lovers you will especially love it. Sufficient for two people so long as you don’t mind sharing a small space. Great to have kitchen and washer available.”

 

Alexandra Surtees 25th September – 11th October 2020 – Badgers Set

How did you rate your stay: Not good  Fair  Good  Excellent

“A lovely space which is nicely decorated and had all the things that you need for a stay. We found the space to be exactly what we needed while our house was renovated”

 

Diana Welburn 21st September – 24th September 2020 – Owls Roost

All staff were friendly and helpful, had a lovely time.

 

Lisa Haggis 21st September – 23rd September 2020 – Badgers Set

How did you rate your stay: Not good   Fair   Good   Excellent

Everywhere was Clean, We had everything we needed.

Riding – Liane is a brilliant teacher and the horses (Mellow and Weasley) were just beautiful, well mannered and gentle.

 

Smita – 29th August – 11th September 2020 – Owls Roost 

Hurstwood just became an even better experience for me. I was fortunate to witness amazing riders perform cross country. The neighbours are great and I have been very happy with my stay. Safe, beautiful and healthy!

 

Lisa Edwards 5th September – 19th September 2020

How did you rate your stay: Not good  Fair  Good  Excellent

‘There is everything you need in the cottage, well equipped, Amy and Charlotte really lovely and helpful.

Riding – Leanne is excellent at teaching, really worth the money and a great riding school. Michelle is also really lovely too.

Thank you for a nice stay – I will be back!

 

Emily Jefferies 22nd August – 29th August

Booked a week here at the end of August and it was a very enjoyable stay. Amy is really friendly and helpful. We ordered a breakfast hamper and an afternoon tea hamper whilst there and they were beautifully presented but also delicious… The tea is especially nice! The cottage itself was very cosy. There is a lot to do around Sussex, we visited national trust sites, Hever castle, Rye and Brighton – where we hired e-bikes from Colin (I can highly recommend as we really enjoyed it).

d but also delicious

Matthew 14th – 17th August 2020 – Holiday Barn

We loved staying here, highly recommended. Beautiful natural environment with many lovely walks i immediate surrounds. My daughter loved the horse riding.

 

Jessica Randfield 10th August – 17th August 2020

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

We have loved everything about staying here! Thank you

Every expectation of this place was shattered each day. Hurstwood proudly boasts that you are likely to see deer on your trip, this is entirely accurate. The grounds that you are able to walk are a stunning step in to nature. The pub that Hurstwood recommend (10 minute walk from the cottage) is unmissable, with amazing seasonal food and fantastic, friendly service. The cottage itself serves as a perfect base camp to see all of the Ashdown Forest and south coast by car. There are plenty of food shops within a short drive away. We noticed the reviews that Wi-Fi was poor and we found this to be true but absolutely not a problem based upon the location. We took an old DVD player, films and board games and didn’t miss it at all. All of the staff on the farm were friendly and welcoming, happy to give you local tips. A fantastic, highly recommended stay.

The entire experience of staying at your cottage was outstanding and an amazing experience. All expectations were shattered on a daily basis and having such fantastic nature so accessible has been the highlight of our trip. We came away looking to rediscover some happiness after this pandemic and we have left with so much more than that. Thank you

 

Laura Coppolaro  10th August – 17th August 2020

“Hurstwood Farm is the perfect place for a quaint getaway in the English countryside. It was wonderfully quiet and completely alive with nature – from the horses clopping around in the yard behind, to buzzards, deer, dogs, owls and peacocks. We ordered a breakfast and afternoon tea hamper from the host which was excellent, with absolutely delicious, locally sourced food. We don’t drive so enjoyed walking around the forest a short walk away from the property, and were able to be picked up from the station and taken to Ashdown Forest (The Hundred Acre Wood) which was really helpful. Top stay, just waht we needed – thank you! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, it was an absolutely delightful week and we’ll make sure to recommend to everyone we can!”

 

Mr & Mrs Viner 1st August – 8th August 2020

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“The accommodation was excellent”

 

Jane Laird 21st July – 24th July 2020

“How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Lovely comfortable clean cottage. We loved being so near the yard and our ponies. Girls would have liked a larger TV but really it wasn’t a problem! Also the remote control was a little tricky to use. We loved our stay and would recommend to others.”

If you had riding lessons, how did you rate them –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Liane was excellent and gave us varied lessons. She understood our abilities and adapted lessons accordingly. We all learnt and improved also lovely horses.

 

Riding holiday guests July 2020 

“How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“What a great stay and would go again”

If you had riding lessons, how did you rate them:  Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

 

Michael Mills – 8th July – 11th July 2020

“How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Zero faults, amazing stay! Our first stay at Hurstwood Farm last week was fantastic. The accommodation was amazing and we did everything we wanted to do over the two and a bit days we had there. My only regret is that we could not stay any longer. Thank you very much for being so accommodating during our stay and we’ll be sure to stop by again.”

 

Steve White – 13th June – 27th June 2020

“How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good    Excellent **BRILLIANT**

“Comfy, well appointed, great quality its like the tardis inside. Really fabulous place absolutely loved it! Thanks for having me!”

 

Thomas Palmer & Family 

“A great rural location for animal lovers with magnificent horses, friendly dogs, peacock and even a herd of deer. Friendly staff and some peaceful woodland walks around the estate. Thank you for having us. A perfect spot and a super little break.”

 

Thomas & Grace – 1st September – 8th September 2019

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Its been lovely to be here, thank you.”

 

Rachel Payne & Family 31st August to 3rd September 2019

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Clean and well appointed cottage which was perfect for our stay kitchen well set out.

 

Nathalie Mahieu – Airbnb guest, Badgers Set 13th August 2019

“Very Calm, very good bed”

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

 

Guy – Airbnb guest, Owls Roost, 30th June  2019

“Lovely compact little cottage on an equestrian farm. Peaceful and away from it all. Try a walk to the pub for a decent pint and excellent food. Thank you for our time at the farm. Perfect for what we needed.”

Richard – Airbnb guest, Badgers Set 5th June 2019

“An incredible place to stay if you like horses. We had an amazing time largely due to the horse riding lessons we were able to book on top of staying at the farm. Our family loved every minute of staying here.”

Mr & Mrs Cunningham – Badgers Set Cottage, May 2019

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Couldn’t improve stay. We all had a lovely time, We were here for a wedding.”

 

Zelda –  Badgers Set Cottage, Jan – Feb 2019

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Very clean and welcoming, homely feel. Thank you for a peaceful rest!”

 

Hally – Owls Cottage, November 2018

“Very nice place. The team is very helpful. The walks around the farm are beautiful. The people that have their horses there are friendly and very willing to explain everything about the horses. And the 2 dogs that live there are adorable. We stayed there for 2 months during renovation on our house. I would have been happy to stay on.”

 

Maxine – Foxes October 2018

“Charming little cottage with great amenities. We suggest a check on which service provider works best for phone and internet signal if you need to keep in touch or work from the cottage.”

Foxes and Studio booking September 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Friendly staff who went out of their way to help us have a lovely holiday. Could not improve our stay all good, happy staff very welcoming. Outstanding accommodation, very accommodating. Thank you for a great holiday.”

 

Dan – Badgers Set September 2018

“Relaxed and friendly. Thank you so much it was a lovely stay and we will be back.”

 

Anna – Fox’s Lair cottage July/ August 2018

“Thank you for  a lovely weekend, the cottage was gorgeous and the girls really benefited from the extra tuition.”

 

Anna- Marie – Owls Roost July 2018

“A lovely stay, in a peaceful quiet location. Accommodation was clean and had everything you could need for your stay”.

 

Victoria – Fox’s Lair cottage June 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Lovely location with beautiful surroundings gorgeous cottage-y feel to accommodations loved the visits from the dogs!! Lovely stay, super location, great accommodations, gorgeous surroundings – overall really nice!! Thank you! Mike your friendliness is overwhelming!

 

Rita – Studio June 2018

“We used Hurstwood Farm for one of our Locum vets who wanted to do their own cooking. Hurstwood made them feel very welcome and it was a successful stay and we would thoroughly recommend.”

 

K Yeomans – Studio June 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Location and facilities were just what I needed for the weekend. Thanks for having us especially at such short notice.

AIRBNB : “Great location for the wedding we were attending just down the road. Sad not to have more time to explore the area as it was absolutely beautiful. The studio was great for what we needed – nothing fancy but certainly did the job. The hosts were great in terms of check in, we were late coming down from London and they just left the key in the door ready for us.”

 

Siobhan Moulding and Family – May 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Loved the posy of wild flowers! chocs on arrival was a lovely touch – thank you

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Jonathan Bryson – May 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Chocolates were yum! Thank you! Would have been great to know on Airbnb, what exactly is provided in kitchen (ie milk) 🙂 

 

Julia and Godwin – April 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“We really enjoyed our weekend despite the weather. Cottage was great! Riding Lessons – Liane was excellent! We will come back! Very happy with our weekend! Already recommended your place to colleagues! Thank you

Emily Lemon – April 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

“Great facilities, comfortable, welcoming, everything we needed. Horses very well looked after.”

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Tamsyn Flynn – March 2018 

“If you want a break in a beautiful setting, this is the place! We loved our walks in the forest. Hospitality was great and the set up of the cottage was just perfect.”

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Jordan Taggart  – March 2018 

“What a lovely stay would recommend to anyone very lovely countryside”

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Kat February 2018

” We had a lovely stay at cosy and beautiful Hurstwood cottage! It has everything you need including a well equipped kitchen, washing machine and TV.”

 

Kat Hendrick – 6th February – 20th February 2018

How did you rate your stay –        Not Good        Fair       Good      Excellent

Beautiful location and very cosy cottage – Thank you 🙂

 

AIRBNB GUEST: Valerie January 2018

“It was a really nice place to stay…. We would stay here again”

 

AIRBNB GUEST:  Irene – December 2017

“Thank you for providing me with such great accommodation. Sorry I didn’t get to leave feedback, it has been hectic since I got back. The cottage is really lovely and cosy. I enjoyed the location and serenity along with the company of the dogs and of course the lovely hos